They're Listing a List—We're Making It Twice!
Tuesday, December 16, 2014

The editors and reviewers of Common Sense Media's Graphite platform have selected work from two of our projects for their list of Best EdTech of 2014.

NSF Announces Funding for Science Learning+
Tuesday, December 2, 2014

As part of the Science Learning+ initiative, the NSF has funded our investigation of digital badges as assessments in informal science learning.

Technology for the World's Children
Thursday, November 20, 2014

Dr. Daniel Light is the author of a chapter on technology, teaching, and learning in the UN's State of the World's Children 2015 report.

Back to Basics for Better Data
Tuesday, November 18, 2014

Dr. Peggy Clements is the author of “The Need for Better Data about K-12 Online Learning: Starting with How and Why” on the EDC’s Learning and Teaching Division blog.

The Ruby Realm Pops Up on BrainPOP
Monday, November 3, 2014

The Ruby Realm, one of the digital games from our Possible Worlds project, is now available from BrainPOP.

New App Applies Our Research
Thursday, October 30, 2014

Research from the Next Generation Preschool Math project informs a new math app for preschool kids, available today in the Apple App Store.

NSF Gives TwISLE a Spin
Monday, August 18, 2014

We're delighted to announce that the NSF has funded our study of the role of social media in public science discourse.

When Research and Common Sense Align
Thursday, July 31, 2014

Dr. Ashley Lewis Presser is co-author of "Positive Integration of Media for Children," on the Platform for Good blog.

Possible Worlds Website in eSchool News
Wednesday, July 23, 2014

Today's online eSchool News features an article on our new Possible Worlds website and explains some of the theory behind the digital games and activities we developed.

IES Funds New RCT
Monday, July 14, 2014

Dr. Babette Moeller will serve as PI on the newly funded study of the efficacy of Math for All PD.

Six Questions, Many Answers, Equity for All
Tuesday, June 17, 2014

In a post on the Fred Rogers Center Blog, Shelley Pasnik has six questions for our colleagues working in early learning and educational technology.

Pleased to Share Our Expertise
Thursday, June 12, 2014

Dr. Wendy Martin and Francisco Cervantes explain computational thinking to a writer from Forbes.

It's How, not How Long
Tuesday, June 3, 2014

CCT director Shelley Pasnik discusses the increasing use of technology by children—the earliest adopters—in "Little Hands, Big Screens."

Games are for Playing!
Friday, May 16, 2014

In her final Games+Learning article, Dr. Katie Culp supports the importance of play over the necessity of assessment.

Watch What Teachers Do
Wednesday, May 14, 2014

In the second of a series of articles on the Games+Learning blog, Dr. Katie Culp explains how to unlock the power of educational games.

Form Follows Function
Monday, May 12, 2014

Dr. Katie Culp writes about CCT's approach to educational game design on the Games+Learning blog.

Math Education Equity
Thursday, May 1, 2014

CCT's Dr. Babette Moeller is co-author of "Making Standards-Based Mathematics Education Accessible to Students with Disabilities" in Urban Perspectives.

Bracing for Impact
Tuesday, April 29, 2014

Mission US: A Cheyenne Odyssey, an interactive history game created with research input from EDC|CCT, has recieved the award for "Most Significant Impact Game" at the 2014 Games for Change festival.

Do TV 'Toons Teach?
Thursday, April 17, 2014

Shelley Pasnik is interviewed by the Anniston Star on the role of the Children's Television Act in bringing educational/informative children's programming to commercial TV.

New Tools, Old Contexts
Thursday, March 27, 2014

Dr. Daniel Light and Elizabeth Pierson have published a paper on the successful integration of tech tools into a traditional school system in Argentina.